Switchboard is made with love in Portland, Oregon

Mara zepeda

Mara Zepeda

Co-founder & CEO


Sean lerner

Sean Lerner

Co-founder & CTO


Andy Shaindlin

Andy Shaindlin

Vice President

Tara nelson

Tara Nelson


Chelsea Haring

Chelsea Haring


Kieran Hanrahan

Kieran Hanrahan



Tim Cooper

Partner Success

Alumni:  Brent Bailey, Brett Beutell, Martha Janicki, Will Jones, Aria Joughin, Hannah Hay-Smith, Melissa Lewis, Lea Loo, Chris Lopez, Chris Lu, Jennifer McCarthy, Tanner Seward, Kevin Steigerwald, David Wilson


We believe that colleges, universities, and independent schools need strong communities to help students and alumni succeed. Switchboard helps schools create responsive, caring networks where members of their community can find and share transformative opportunities.



The internet brought us together so we could make the internet a better place.

We serve cities, industries, farmersaffinity communities, membership organizations, and colleges and universities.

Switchboard was founded by Mara Zepeda and Sean Lerner. They met over Twitter in 2012 and built the first Switchboard for their alma mater, Reed College. They wanted to create an intuitive ad-free platform that prioritized building community. You can read the entire story here


You can find all press and press releases here. We've also been featured in:

Jessica hische

Jessica Hische

Design Advisor


Samuel hulick

Samuel Hulick

Advisor & User Experience


Andy shaindlin

Andrew Shaindlin

Advisor for Higher Education


Noah pepper

Noah Pepper



Jesse Bardo

Jesse Bardo

Advisor for Higher Education




Advising & Design




You can read more about our thoughts on company culture and fundraising.


Stay in touch

Twitter  ·  Angel List  ·  Our blog  ·  Kind Words

Contact Us

Phone: 503.482.9447

Terrestrial mailing address
(The beautiful Washington High School!)
1300 SE Stark Street, Suite #304
Portland, Oregon 97214


Kelli Anderson, Nate Angell, Jennifer Armbrust, Peat Bakke, Brad Berens, Kate Bingaman-Burt, Greg Borenstein, Will Bryant, Jinnina Chiles, Jerry Colonna & Team Reboot, Anil Dash, Lennon Day-Reynolds, Andrew DeVigal, Adam DuVander, Mat Ellis, Tina Roth Eisenberg, Dawn Foster, Kaori Freda, Dr. Karen Gilmore & Dr. Mitchell Charap, Renny Gleeson, Jason Glaspey, Kirsten Golden, William Henderson, Scott Heiferman, Matt Haughey, Ingrid Fetell, Sue & Greg Hadfield, Jacob Hinmon, Brian Hufft, John Jay, Nina Johnson, Jennifer Jordan, Jake Knapp, James Keller, Marshall King, Nancy King, Wendy Kotila, Marshall and Mikalina Kirkpatrick, Allison Krug, Matt Knox, Tina Snow Le, Albert Lee, Lena Lencek, Adam Lisagor, Laura LoForti, Patrick Maloney, Chris May, Debbie Millman, Isaac Oats, Mark Patel, Tsilli Pines, Alexis Peterka, Gemma Petrie, Portland Development Commission, Reed College, Darius Rejali, Jessica Rickson, Clay Shirky, Gina Trapani, Rick Turoczy, Tom Watson, Copious, Kimberly Davis